Friday, March 15News That Matters

O Panneerselvam sworn in as new Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, retains Jaya Cabinet

Following the demise of Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, O Panneerselvam was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of at a simple function held at Raj Bhavan in the wee hours of Tuesday. Along with him 31 Cabinet Ministers were also sworn in. Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao administered the oath of office and oath of secrecy to the Council of Ministers.

For Panneerselvam, it is the third term as Chief Minister. Earlier, he held the office in 2001 and 2014. After he assumed the office, the rest of the Ministers took the oath together and the swearing in ceremony was over within 10 minutes.

Earlier in the day, Panneerselvam was elected as the leader of AIADMK legislature party at a meeting held at party headquarters here. The meeting lasted for 45 minutes. From there, all MLAs straightaway drove for Raj Bhavan. Later, the Council of Ministers posed for a picture with the Governor. Later, they left for Poes Garden residence of Jayalalithaa.

The portfolios of the Ministers are yet to be announced.

Sharing is caring!

More in Tamil Naidu
State wails as Amma left

75 days after being admitted to Apollo Hospital following complaints...