Friday, August 10News That Matters

Akshay Kumar Won The National Award On Merit: Priyadarshan

The nation seems to have been divided over Akshay Kumar’s national award win. While some people expressed their happiness on social media, there were others who thought that he didn’t deserve it over actors such as Manoj Bajpayee (Aligrah) and Aamir Khan (Dangal). Some even trolled him brutally in the same regard.

Now filmmaker Priyadarshan, who has collaborated with Akshay Kumar for various films including Hera Pheri, Bhagam Bhag, Garam Masala and Bhool Bhulaiyaa amongst others, has taken a stand against those questioning the actor’s win, after many attributed it to his closeness with Priyadarshan, who is the Jury Chairperson in Feature Films category.

Defending his stance, the filmmaker said, “I have heard of all that and I will answer it in a simple way. When Ramesh Sippy was jury head Amitabh Bachchan won. When Prakash Jha was head of jury, Ajay Devgn won. So none questioned at that time. So why all these questions are cropping up today.”

Furthermore, he clarified that that the decision was made keeping in mind Akshay’s performance in Rustom as well as Airlift.

Sharing is caring!

More in Entertainment
Beyonce, Priyanka Chopra world’s most beautiful women – Baywatch actress beats Emma Watson, Gal Gadot for the second spot

The Baywatch actress ranked second in a star-studded list announced...

Shah Rukh Khan and Anushka Sharma shooting Raula – in Europe for Imtiaz Ali’s next in Punjab

After Europe, Shah Rukh Khan and Anushka Sharma are seen...